Press Release Details

Bruker Energy & Supercon Technologies Elects Chris van Ingen as Executive Chairman and Adds Fourth Independent Director

April 8, 2010

BILLERICA, Mass., Apr 08, 2010 (BUSINESS WIRE) --Bruker Energy & Supercon Technologies, Inc. (BEST), a wholly-owned subsidiary of Bruker Corporation (NASDAQ: BRKR), today announced that Chris van Ingen has been elected Executive Chairman of the BEST board of directors. Furthermore, the board has been expanded from six to seven members through the addition of newly elected independent director Dr. Wolf-Dieter Emmerich.

Dr. Emmerich joins Brenda Furlong, Professor Thomas Hartkopf and Chris van Ingen as the fourth independent director of BEST, in addition to three other BEST directors Joerg Laukien, Tony Keller and Frank Laukien.

Mr. van Ingen joined the BEST board of directors in October 2009 and has now succeeded Mr. Joerg Laukien as Chairman of BEST. Chris van Ingen commented: "I am very pleased to be assuming an active role within BEST as Executive Chairman, and I intend to work closely with the management team as BEST accelerates its drive towards its strategic goals:

(i) to become the leading provider of superconductivity-enabled devices and tools for alternative energy and 'smart grid' applications,
(ii) to expand its position as a leading global provider of enabling technologies and tools for 'big science' infrastructure for fundamental energy and materials research,
(iii) to expand its position as the world's broadest technology platform supplier of advanced low-temperature superconductors (LTS) and high-temperature superconductors (HTS), and
(iv) to provide unique, high-value superconducting technologies and devices for various industrial and medical applications."

Mr. van Ingen was President of the Life Sciences and Chemical Analysis Group at Agilent Technologies from 2001 to 2007. Prior to that, Mr. van Ingen was Vice President of Sales and Marketing of Hewlett Packard's Chemical Analysis Group and held several other senior management positions at Hewlett Packard prior to 1996. Mr. van Ingen is currently a board member of Symyx Technologies, and he serves on the audit and compensation committees of the BEST board of directors.

Dr. Emmerich, who is also an independent director on the Bruker Corporation board of directors, will serve on the audit and compensation committees of the BEST board of directors. He currently serves as a consultant to Erich Netzsch Holding, the parent company of Netzsch Instruments, a developer and manufacturer of thermal analysis instruments headquartered in Selb, Germany. Dr. Emmerich joined the Netzsch Group in 1970 and served in a variety of capacities until his retirement in 2005. Dr. Emmerich assumed worldwide responsibility for the Netzsch Analyzing and Testing business unit in 1980 and was appointed to the Executive Board of the Netzsch Group in 1995. Dr. Emmerich currently serves as Chairman of the Advisory Board of the ANALYTICA International Trade Fair, and on the board of the Bayreuth University Society. Dr. Emmerich holds a Ph.D. in physics from the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg.

About Bruker Energy & Supercon Technologies, Inc.

Bruker Energy & Supercon Technologies, Inc. (BEST) is a subsidiary of Bruker Corporation. For more information on BEST, please visit:

Photos/Multimedia Gallery Available:

SOURCE: Bruker Energy & Supercon Technologies, Inc.

Bruker Energy & Supercon Technologies, Inc.
Tom Rosa, +1-978-901-7550
Chief Financial Officer and SVP