Management Team

Bruker Corporation Management

Frank H. Laukien, Ph.D., Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Bruker Corporation

Dr. Frank H. Laukien has been the Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Company since February 1991. Dr. Laukien also serves as a director of various subsidiaries of the Company. Dr. Laukien served as a director of ALDA (Analytical, Life Science & Diagnostics Association), an industry association formerly known as Analytical & Life Sciences Systems Association, or ALSSA, for several terms in the past, and was ALSSA Chairman from 2002 to 2003. Dr. Laukien holds a Bachelor of Science degree in physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, as well as a Ph.D. in chemical physics from Harvard University. Dr. Laukien was a member of the Dean’s Advisory Committee of the MIT School of Science until 2014, and a Trustee of the Rivers School in Weston, Massachusetts until mid-2013. In May 2017, Dr. Laukien was elected a senator of acatech, the German National Academy of Science and Engineering. Dr. Laukien has a long history of leading the profitable growth of the Company and has in-depth knowledge of all aspects of the Company’s operations. He also provides extensive executive experience in organizational management, strategic planning, finance, global business development and life-science tools markets, as well as the scientific and technical background required for a deep understanding of the Company’s key technologies, markets and industry dynamics.

Gerald N. Herman, Chief Financial Officer

Mr. Herman has served as the Company’s Chief Financial Officer since June 2018. Mr. Herman brings more than 30 years of financial, accounting and operations leadership experience to Bruker’s CFO position. He joined Bruker in 2016 as Vice President and Corporate Controller, and in March of 2018 he was appointed as Interim CFO. Prior to Bruker, Mr. Herman served in senior executive positions with various global publicly traded companies, including as Corporate Vice President - Clinical Operations of PAREXEL International from 2014 to February 2016, and as Corporate Vice President & Controller-Finance of PAREXEL from 2008 to 2013. Prior to 2008, Mr. Herman was Vice President - Corporate Controller of Presstek, Inc. He also served in financial, consulting and accounting roles at various organizations, including as Senior Manager at Arthur Andersen LLP from 1979 to 1987. Mr. Herman is a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) and holds a Master of Business Administration (MBA) from the University of Chicago, and a Master of Science in Taxation from Bentley University.

Mark R. Munch, Ph.D, President, Bruker NANO Group

Dr. Munch has served since September 2012 as President, Bruker Nano Group, with responsibility for management of the global operations of our Bruker Nano Group, which manufactures and distributes the Company’s advanced analytical X-ray technologies and spark-optical emission spectroscopy, atomic force microscopy and stylus and optical metrology instrumentation used in non-destructive molecular, materials and elemental analysis. Dr. Munch has also served as President of Bruker Nano, Inc., a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Company, since October 2010. Prior to joining Bruker Nano, Inc., from February 2008 to October 2010 Dr. Munch was Executive Vice President of Veeco Instruments Inc. Dr. Munch has also served as a Senior Vice President of Coherent, Inc. from February 2006 to January 2008 and as President and Chief Executive Officer of Cooligy, Inc., a subsidiary of Emerson Electric, from 2004 to 2006. Dr. Munch’s background includes over 23 years of experience in marketing, product development, operations and sales, as well as experience in managing significant business units of multi-national corporations. Dr. Munch holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Colorado and a Master of Science degree and Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from Stanford University.

Juergen Srega, President, Bruker CALID Group

Mr. Srega joined the Company as President, Bruker CALID Group in January 2013. In this position Mr. Srega is responsible for management of the global operations of our Bruker CALID Group, which manufactures and distributes the Company’s mass spectrometry and chromatography instruments for life science and applied markets, as well as analytical instruments for chemical, biological, radiological, nuclear and explosives detection and research and process instruments based on infrared and Raman molecular spectroscopy technologies. Prior to joining the Company, Mr. Srega served since 1996 in a variety of senior management roles at Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc., a global provider of analytical instruments, equipment, reagents and consumables, software and services for research, analysis, discovery and diagnostics headquartered in Waltham, Massachusetts. At Thermo Fisher Scientific, Mr. Srega led a number of significant operating divisions, including as Vice President and General Manager Biomarkers, BRAHMS GmbH, from 2011 to 2012, Vice President and General Manager Scientific Instruments Division Global Products from 2005 to 2011 and Vice President and General Manager Advanced MS from 1996 to 2004. Prior to 1996, Mr. Srega was with Badenwerk AG, a German power utility company located in Karlsruhe, Germany, from 1988 to 1995 and an employee of Bruker GmbH from 1980 to 1988. Mr. Srega holds a B.A. in Finance from Nord Akademie in Hamburg, Germany and a B.A. in Engineering from Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences in Karlsruhe, Germany.

Falko Busse, Ph.D., President, Bruker BioSpin Group

Dr. Busse was named President of the Bruker BioSpin Group in May 2018. In this position, Dr. Busse is responsible for management of the global operations of our Bruker BioSpin Group, which manufactures and distributes the company’s Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) and Electron Paramagnetic Resonance (EPR) technologies in life science, pharmaceutical, industrial and applied research markets as well as the company’s preclinical imaging products and service and lifecycle support for all of BioSpin’s products. Dr. Busse joined Bruker BioSpin in 2015 as Executive Vice President of Research and Development. He assumed responsibility for BioSpin operations, marketing and strategy in early 2017, and was promoted to Deputy BioSpin Group president in October 2017. Prior to joining Bruker, Dr. Busse held successive leadership positions at Philips Healthcare, among them as Chief Technology Officer of the global MRI business, as well as General Manager of growth businesses in image-guided therapy and in data-driven radiology solutions. Dr. Busse holds a Ph.D. in physics from the University of Bonn in Germany, and received further executive training at MIT’s Sloan School of Management.

Burkhard Prause, Ph.D., President, Bruker Energy & Supercon Technologies (BEST)

Dr. Prause has been with Bruker for over 15 years, most recently as President of BEST since April 2008. He was a director of BEST from April 2012 to February 2013. He has also served in leadership roles at various BEST subsidiaries, including as a director of Hydrostatic Extrusions Ltd. since April 2013, and as a Managing Director of Bruker EAS GmbH and Bruker HTS GmbH since January 2005, RI Research Instruments GmbH since December 2008, and Bruker ASC GmbH since March 2009. Dr. Prause began his career at Bruker with the company’s BioSpin preclinical MRI business in 2002. Prior to joining Bruker, Dr. Prause was a senior staff scientist at the Max-Planck Institute in Tuebingen, Germany. Dr. Prause holds a Ph.D. in physics from the University of Notre Dame in Indiana.